Tags

, , , , , ,


3 months in and going strong!  That’s right, it’s been about 3 months now since I ventured into the world of blogging and if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: People will read anything!  If you’re funny and can make people laugh, you’ve got an audience.  If you’re as dull as a spoon, there are people even duller than you who will read about your dullness.  It’s amazing the topics you’ll find out in the blogosphere.  Everything from stories of trips to far away lands to lists of things to do on a rainy day to how to beat level 14 in “Zombie Cows 2: Revenge of the Holsteins”  I think I made that last one up but Google it…you never know.  The point is, bloggers can write about anything they want and that’s what makes this endeavor so enjoyable.

I’ve touched on topics over the past few months that have included my “30 before 30” list, sports topics, holiday stories and tales of Izzy and Jake.  I’ve received hundreds of comments and thousands of page views and thoroughly enjoy reading your opinions, so long as they agree with mine of course.  Writing this blog has been a blast and the response has been great.  But I think we can make it even better!  Even bigger! 

A few weeks ago, I opened up the wordpress.com homepage to find my latest post on the front page.  I had been Freshly Pressed!  Suddenly my average daily page views jumped from about 25 to well over 1,000.  It took hours to read and reply to all the comments I received.  My new-found fame quickly went to my head as I envisioned notoriety, book deal requests, and winning the “best blogger ever” award at the annual Bloggies (is that a real thing?  If it isn’t, it should be).  Reality set in a few days later like quick-drying cement as the comments slowed and the page views returned to pre-pressed status.  My loyal followers remained, but the flood of new readers had been reduced to a trickle.  I resolved myself to the idea that my 30 before 30 list, as well as the rest of my stories, would remain among my inner circle of friends and family.

Then I started reading through some comments.  “Hilarious!” some people said.  “Great writing, funny stuff” another posted.  It seemed that people actually found my mildly humorous anecdotes entertaining.  Suddenly I was re-energized.  “There’s no reason I can’t become a well-known blogger.”  I thought to myself.  “Sure there is,” my self replied. “You’re not very popular, exciting, adventurous…and you’re nose is huge!”  After mentally arguing with myself for several minutes, and self-consciously staring at my giant shnozz in the mirror, I laid the smack down on Negative Me and got to thinking about how to get my story out to more people.

That’s where you guys come in.  When I first started the blog several months ago, I reached out to all my family and friends to try to build a fan base.  You guys came through for me in a major way but now it’s time to kick it up a notch.  You know you love reading this stuff…you can’t get enough of it.  So why not tell your friends, your co-workers, your mailman and your therapist about it?  Just think, once I’m rich and famous you’ll be able to brag that you were the one who got the ball rolling.  Just don’t expect any royalties in return.

A quick story for you- A former walk-on basketball player at Ohio State University, Mark Titus, started a blog a few years back about life as he saw it from the end of the bench.  He wrote about his efforts to record no meaningful stats in the box scores of his games when he was put in to play the last minute of a blowout win or loss.  His blog caught the attention of sports columnist Bill Simmons of “The Sports Guy” and “my 30 before 30 list” fame and he found himself a guest on the BS Report.  Since that time, his blog has grown astronomically (www.clubtrillion.com), he’s written articles for ESPN, and is now writing his own book. 

Obviously, my blog is not catching the attention of any famous people or I wouldn’t be sitting here pleading with you to spread the word.  But if 2 friends tell 2 more friends, and they tell 2 friends and they tell 2 friends…you see where I’m going with this.  Before long, people all over will be complaining about how this no-talent loser became famous.  I could be the next “The Situation”…you know, minus the abs and fist-pumping.  So while I continue to subscribe myself to every social networking site known to man, I hope you will do you part in telling my story.  A smart man once said, “Ask not what Jim Chaney’s blog can do for you, but what you can do for Jim Chaney’s blog.”  I think that’s how it went.  Anyway, thank you all for your continued addiction to my page and I look forward to meeting the new soon-to-be addicts that I’m sure you’ll bring in.

