Tags

, , , , , , ,


If you’ve been checking up on my blog lately, you know that I’m as desperate for readers as Ben Roethlisberger is for a cheeseburger.  Ever since the slew of page views and comments from my brief appearance on Freshly Pressed ended, I’ve been trying to come up with ways to promote my page.  So I took to the Google and after many, many minutes of research, scowering at least two different websites to gather opinions (well how much time did you expect me to devote to this?), a consensus idea was made clear.  Write More!  So that’s 7 ½ minutes of my life I’ll never get back.

The truth is, while it sounds simple it’s not as easy as it seems.  WordPress challenged its bloggers at the beginning of 2011 to write a post a day.  Many accepted the challenge, but within a couple of weeks had traded writing for vegging out on the couch and watching marathons of Teen Mom and Jersey Shore.  Coming up with something interesting or engaging to write about every single day can become a real chore and lead people to resent the hobby they once loved.  Of course if you want your blog to gain readership and notoriety; the more you write, the more people will read.  It’s a catch 22, a double-edged sword, or any other cliché you prefer.

Now I’ve done my best to keep you coming back by turning as many dull, daily moments of my life into slightly less dull stories, but I feel I haven’t given you enough.  My loyal readers deserve more content.  I can tell you crave it like Big Ben and a second cheeseburger (or at least I like to think you do).  So while I only have so many stories to share with you since I’m really not that interesting, it’s not going to stop me from writing more.

With that, I am introducing “Follow-Up Fridays”.  Probably not the most original name but I was going for the whole alliteration thing.  Anyway, we’re over a month into 2011 which means we’re almost 3 full months into my countdown to 30!  Time is ticking away and while I can’t promise I’ll be checking items off my list each week, I can promise to at least make some progress that is worth reporting on.  So without further ado, I give you the first installment of Follow-Up Friday entitled “Elvis And Dylan Get Better Everyday”.

#1 and #2- Not much to report on here other than the marathon I have chosen to run.  For several years, I have participated in the Baltimore Marathon with the exception of last year when I chose instead to take part in the sit-on-your-butt marathon.  This year however, the date of the race falls during the same week that we will be in Disney World.  Therefore, this year, I will be registering for the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington DC instead.  The race is scheduled for the end of October, just before my birthday so this may be the last item checked off the list…assuming I complete the race.  Also, I may have been a bit ambitious when adding #2 to the list.  After not running for quite a while, I recently began my training by completing a mile in no less than the time it takes to listen to “In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida” by Iron Butterfly.  I may have to make an adjustment here but let’s give it some time and see how it goes.

#11 and #12- Karaoke night is almost set.  Need to figure out who is watching my kids or if they’ll just chill at the bar while Dad rocks the mike.  Assuming the details get worked out in time, I’m looking at February 24th at Looney’s Pub.  I feel like Jerry Maguire…”Who’s coming with me?”  As far as #12 goes, I have officially begun lessons with my fellow Overlea High School alum, Scott Spivey.  Check out his website here if you’re interested in learning yourself.  By the way, this is where the title of this post came from.  It’s a good acronym for learning the strings on a guitar.  That lesson’s free kids, the rest you gotta pay for!

#13- Still plodding away on this one.  For those not familiar with the book, it was originally written in Russian and then translated to English.  It’s not exactly a smooth read, there are run-on sentences, short, choppy sentences, quotes that don’t seem to make a lot of sense and if you are still reading this sentence and haven’t realized that I am trying to show you how the book is written then I recommend that you don’t read it.  For those of you who like a challenge however, this book could be your Everest.

#23 and #24- The wife and I will celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary in May and so our carefree weekend will coincide with the celebration.  We haven’t booked anything yet but we’re leaning towards Atlantic City for a long weekend.  My hope is that someone worth seeing might be playing a show while we’re there.  My other hope is that the hotel manager will hook us up with some good seats when I explain that I am suffering from a rare disease and it requires me to be in the first couple rows of a concert in order to hear or see it.  Hmm…am I going too far?  Nah!

So that’s it for now folks.  Look for this regular column every week going forward and hopefully I’ll have something to add to it.  Now let me get back to studying my chord changes and finger placement while increasing my pace on the treadmill.  So many list items, so little time!

