Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


After months and months of painstaking research and analysis, feedback from experts in various fields, and in-person interviews and observations; we here at 30 Before 30 feel confident that the evidence we’ve uncovered backs up the following statement.  I am, in fact, too big for my britches.

The britches in question, that I have become too big for

I think we could all see the writing on the wall.  It was really only a matter of time.  It wasn’t until the posting of yesterday’s choices for Freshly Pressed however, that it became crystal clear.  I’m kind of a big deal and I know it.  And you should too!  So you better hop on this bandwagon people because we’re heading straight to the top and we’re not going to wait for stragglers.

Ok, now that I’ve gotten the big-headed stuff out of the way, it’s time for a mild case of humility.  After writing a small piece on Wednesday that I felt was creative and humorous, just the right recipe for Freshly Pressed, I was disappointed to not see it staring me in the face when I logged in.  I mean it’s not like there’s 400,000+ posts to choose from or anything, come on!  My disappointed didn’t last long however as I logged in yesterday to approve a comment and there on the front page, albeit turned sideways for some reason, was a photo I had taken from my trip to Fenway Park.  I quickly clicked it and gave it a read as I have posted many things since then and couldn’t remember how witty or comical I had been.  After giving it a brief once-over, I was satisfied.  I sat back and watched the page views and comments start rolling in.

As this wasn’t my first rodeo, having been Pressed back in January, I was prepared for what was to come.  That didn’t stop me from being extremely humbled by the many positive remarks I received.   Thank you to everyone who visited my page for the first time; I sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you around these parts more often.  For my loyal readers out there, all 7 of you, thanks for sticking by me for so long.  You guys are the real winners here…but since I’ve got the forum, I’ll accept the “You’re the man!” award on your behalf.

I’m a bit torn this morning.  You see it’s Friday, which means (for all you newbies out there) that I will be providing you with an update on my 30 Before 30 progress.  As this is the first progress report for my newest subscribers, I feel the need to blow you away with impressive status updates from this past week.  Alas, this may have been one of my least productive weeks in a long time.  With Izzy’s big 2nd birthday party happening tomorrow, it’s been a little crazy around the house this week trying to prepare.  With the excuse out of the way, let’s get right to it shall we?  Here it is, your Follow-Up Friday:

#1-3: Weekly Stats: (this is embarrassing)

  • Miles run: 0
  • Pushups: 80
  • Situps: 80
  • Random IPod song: Yeah! by Usher

Yep, you read that right, it’s a big old goose egg for miles completed in my training this week.  Again, I feel the party excuse is legit so I’m not too upset with myself.  Should have worked out more though with the daily pushup/situp routine.  Pretty weak, sorry!

#13 : I continue to make progress in the book, a little at a time.  I won’t say that there is light at the end of the tunnel because that would imply that I am more than halfway through the proverbial tunnel and can see the end.  That is far from the case so instead, I’ll say that I am getting closer to the darkest portion of the tunnel.  Not exactly confidence inspiring, but I’ll get there eventually.

#15 : I have secured tickets to an Orioles game next Wednesday with our neighbors, Jeff and Steph, so I’ll be crossing off another item shortly.  I doubt this will be the only O’s game I see this year however, as tickets are still relatively cheap for a sporting event and they’re not exactly selling out these days.  Looking forward to the game though and another step closer to completing my list.

#24 : It is officially May which means it will be Jen and I’s anniversary before we know it.  That also means a long weekend on a cruise ship to the Bahamas.  Definitely looking forward to this and counting down the days.  We’re gonna get out sleep and drink on and it’s gonna be a blast!

So that’s about it for this week guys.  Again, to all you newbies reading this for the first time, I’d like to tell you that this week was an anomaly and that next week will include much more progress.  For you loyal readers, you know that statement would be false.  This is pretty much par for the course.  Ok, enjoy your weekend everyone and thanks again for all the Freshly Pressed love!

