Tags

, , , , , ,


The dream of being a writer has never been more attainable than it is today. Partially because there have never been as many avenues open to writers and partially because “being a writer” is so subjective. I call myself a writer frequently on this blog. I do so because this is my “published” work, out there for the world to read, and also because I feel it to be true, despite any “professional” proof or accolades to support it. Whether I’m featured in a popular magazine or simply read online by my family and friends, no one can dispute my claim as long as I continue to write.

Being a novelist, however, has a more rigid set of criteria and less room for interpretation. Have you written a novel? Has it been published? As an aspiring novelist myself, I salute and appreciate those who have achieved their goal. Until I entered the blogosphere, I had no idea of the commitment that writing a novel requires. I hope that once I begin my own attempt, I will have the willpower to see it through. One of my favorite fellow bloggers, The Hack Novelist, recently completed his journey through the process of writing and editing a novel and today, I get to do my part in helping him achieve the next step in his goal.

After committing a year and a half of his life to turning a seed of an idea into a full-grown redwood of a story, Hack has made it to the publishing phase of his dream. Having decided to bypass the traditional, and increasingly outdated, publishing house route, Hack has ventured into the fresh, and somewhat uncharted, waters of self-publishing. The idea of having the largest stake in the success of your novel is both an exciting and terrifying feeling for a writer. Knowing that your dream is entirely in your own hands is a scary thought. But by using all that the age of technology has given us, the light at the end of the tunnel seems closer than ever.

Hack is not taking this challenge lightly. He knows that his success requires others to buy into what he’s selling. After reading his blog for about a year now, I am proud to say that I am all in! His journey has been engaging to readers like me, but more importantly, his writing is superb. His self-deprecation only enhances his talents as a writer and after a year of blog posts, he’s finally letting his readers in on snippets of what he’s spent over a year of his life writing; his novel.

As part of his promotional plan, Hack is releasing some of his super-natural thriller, Remnant, on his blog in weekly, 2,000 word segments. I strongly urge you to head over to his page and check them out. You’ll find the prologue, followed by part 1 and part 2. Read all three and I dare you to tell me you’re not hooked. After you acknowledge your hook-ed-ness, take a gander at the scruffy-looking fellow to the right. That would be Hack.

If you click on his mug, you’ll be taken to the next step in his promotional tour, the project page for Remnant on kickstarter.com. Or, if you prefer, just click here. Kickstarter is a fabulous tool for creative folks such as Hack. It allows the creator of a project to request backing from supportive fans like you and me. It’s also a risky proposition. You see, if Hack doesn’t reach the goal he has set for himself in the time allotted, the money donated will be released back to the patrons and Hack’s dream takes a right hook to the temple. It’s an all or nothing sort of thing.

So considering that my financial assets are, let’s say, tied up in other investments (i.e. food, shelter, etc.), I figured I could best assist my friend by spreading the word about his cause. Rather than take my word for it, I ask that you visit The Hack Novelist at his page and read his stuff. I’ll let his words speak for themselves because I can’t possibly do them justice. If you agree, click over to his kickstarter page and be a part of helping someone achieve their goal.

If you believe every word I’ve said, and would prefer to bypass Hack’s ugly mug, click here to be taken directly to the donation page.

