Tags

, , , , , , ,


I’ve mentioned my friend, The Hack Novelist, here on this blog many times before. I do so because I believe in sharing great writing with the masses (by masses, I mean the 8 people reading this right now), but also because the story of his novel-writing journey is partially responsible for inspiring me to take a similar path. More than just updates on the status of his book, it was the way in which Hack brought his readers along with him down the road towards his goal that sparked the fire in me.

I’ve been a Hack follower through the writing and editing process and now, as he embarks on possibly the toughest phase yet, publishing, I feel almost as embedded in the journey as he. It’s exciting to be a part of someone’s journey toward personal achievement; at least that’s how I feel. But as much as I love the Hackster, in the words of Toby Keith, “I wanna talk about me.”

In the 14 months I’ve been blogging here at The Wordslinger, I’ve written about everything from parenting to fantasy football to the “joys” of homeownership. The topics have been all over the board. But one thing that has remained consistent, is my efforts to make you feel at home. I always try to engage my readers and make my stories feel familiar. I want you to come back and bring others with you because you feel a connection with the words, and in turn, the writer.

As you may remember, I have been vetting an idea for a novel in my mind for several months now. My little red notebook is full of incoherent ramblings and half-baked ideas. But recently, I’ve come across a possible storyline that seems to be growing roots. A seed begging to be watered, fed and bathed in light. With a focus on flawed characters, family, and finding purpose, this tiny sapling is ready to begin its journey toward becoming a redwood.

Taking a page out of Hack’s book, pun intended, I plan to provide you with updates on my progress right here at The Wordslinger. When I flesh out a scene in my outline, or give life to a new character, I’ll be telling you all about it. I hope by bringing you along for the ride, you’ll embrace the journey with me and convince others to do the same.

Hack says the best advice he can give to writers is to write everyday. I respect this advice. It worked well for Hack. I doubt it will work well for me, considering the two munchkins that have me wrapped around their fingers. So while I can’t promise regularly scheduled updates on the book, I can promise that whenever something constructive takes place, you’ll be the first to know. I’m uber excited to get started on what I hope will be my “first” rather than “only” novel. I hope you are excited to join me!

Thanks for all your support this year and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

Follow The Wordslinger on Twitter and you’ll get sneak peaks into my writing process that you won’t find here!

