Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It’s Monday night, as in the dark part of the day before I’m supposed to have a blog post done.  Every Tuesday, The Wordslinger graces the presence of your inbox, Twitter feed, Facebook wall, and for a select few, MySpace page (by the way, we really need to talk about that.  MySpace?  Really??).  Anyway, since going to a regular posting schedule, I haven’t missed a Tuesday yet.

So here I am on Monday night and what do I have ready for tomorrow morning?  Nothing, nada, squadoosh, goose egg!  Now I absolutely owe you guys a post this week, but I’m also way behind on my manuscript and should really be spending this rare alone time trying to catch up.  So call the rest of this post a cop-out if you want, but bear in mind that while I may simply be using other people’s words, I did spend the time to look them up.

As a writer (that’s right, I’m calling myself a writer now so deal with it), I am absolutely addicted to reading the way other writers describe the craft.  From Shakespeare to Twain, Hemingway to Fitzgerald, so many great writers have used their skills to craft incredible descriptions of what writing means to them.  Whether you are a writer yourself, someone who appreciates a great quote, or just  a guy who loves lists, I think you’ll enjoy some of my favorite quotes about writing.

I’ll see you back here next week with something much more creative, enjoyable, funny, thought-provoking, and emotional.  Or, I’ll just see you back here next week.

“I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter.” – James Michener

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.” – William Wordsworth

“Easy reading is damn hard writing.” – Nathaniel Hawthorne

“Writing is a struggle against silence.” – Carlos Fuentes

“An old racetrack joke reminds you that your program contains all the winners’ names.  I stare at my typewriter keys with the same thought.” – Mignon McLaughlin

“A perfectly healthy sentence, it is true, is extremely rare.  For the most part we miss the hue and fragrance of the thought; as if we could be satisfied with the dews of the morning or evening without their colors, or the heavens without their azure.” – Henry David Thoreau

“You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you.  And we edit to let the fire show through the smoke.” – Arthur Polotnik

“The road to hell is paved with adverbs.” – Stephen King

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.” – Saul Bellow

“A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” – Thomas Mann

“Drama, instead of telling us the whole of a man’s life, must place him in such a situation, tie such a knot, that when it is untied, the whole man is visible.” – Leo Tolstoy

“Writing a novel is like driving a car at night.  You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” – E.L. Doctorow

“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader.  No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” – Robert Frost

“When we read, we start at the beginning and continue until we reach the end.  When we write, we start in the middle and fight our way out.” – Vickie Karp

“I write for the same reason I breathe — because if I didn’t, I would die.” – Isaac Asimov

“Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very;” your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.” – Mark Twain

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” – Anton Chekhov

“Write from the soul, not from some notion what you think the marketplace wants. The market is fickle; the soul is eternal.” – Jeffrey A. Carver

“It is absurd to think that the only way to tell if a poem is lasting is to wait and see if it lasts. The right reader of a good poem can tell the moment it strikes him that he has taken an immortal wound—that he will never get over it.” – Robert Frost

“All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.” – Ernest Hemingway

